Eighty bowlers have advanced in the 23rd annual New Mexico Games bowling tournament at Tenpins & More in Rio Rancho.


From Tenpins & More

* Eighty bowlers have advanced in the 23rd annual New Mexico Games bowling tournament at Tenpins & More in Rio Rancho.

From a near-record 374 qualifying attempts and 127 finalists, the eighty won their way to a shot at gold, silver and bronze medals later this month as well as a chance to be able to represent New Mexico in the National State Games of America finals in San Diego, California next July.

Part-time regional pro bowler, Brian Bledsoe included 229, 268, 245, 238, 246 in his winning the scratch Open division with 1,401/6 – a 233.5 clip.

Second went to former New York City police-man, Joe LaRosa, only two pins behind with 1,399 followed another two pins back by Dan Brenning on 1,397 in one of the closest finishes in history.

Tyler Grier, who recently moved back to Rio Rancho from Ohio, won Men’s A with 1,479, including handicap, ahead of Tom Thornhill 1,433 and Michael Radasa whose 1,429 included his first 700 series which featured strings of 258 and 252.

Averey Marquez opened with 265 and closed with 227 to capture Men’s B on 1,516, well ahead of Seth Muller 1,404 and Andy Woolf 1,400.

Jeffrey Chavez had an opportunity for a perfect game after starting with nine strikes in a row but settled for 266 as he ran off with Men’s C from Kyle Belnap and Brian Peterson.

Robin Prioleau showed some of her best form with games of 215, 227, 245, 266 and 214 to take out Women’s A on 1,427 in front of Monica Redman 1,314 and Johnna Mora 1,307.

Jeanne Carver finished with 234, 161, 222 for the Women’s B win on 1,458 ahead of Native American bowlers, Shannon Lastyona 1,402 and Felecia Padilla 1,379.

Taking recent lessons from house pro, Paul Yoder lifted Celina Bennett to the Women’s C title with 1,431 beating Emily Sanchez 1,415 and Sandra Fride 1,393.

Ken Friedrich, who drives to Rio Rancho from Espanola twice a week for leagues and tournaments threw 215, 225, 255 and 212 to win Senior Men’s A over John Mitsunaga 995-943, followed by perennial New Mexico Games stalwart Perry Hampel next with 904.

Mike Creager Sr bowled all four games well above his average of 167 (228, 210, 201, 193) as did second-placed Terry Kamm for first and second in Senior Men’s B action, with Doug Wilson third, not far behind.

So too did Rose Burnett in Senior Women’s. Entering on a 142 average, Burnett fired 167, 200, 173 and 160 to beat Thursday night league team-mates, Evelyn Trujillo and Marilyn Wassmann, 996-943-930.

Cindy Creager won Senior Women’s B by twenty pins from Sally Kantz with Donna Fevig third a further twelve pins behind.

Youth who advanced were Shane Muller, Alex Blair, Carson Belnap, Reid Ross, Alberto Medina, Xavier Provencher, Jonathan Paterson, Marcus Ross, Kylie Belnap, Kenadie Haines, Naomi Seiler, Lucia Griego, and sisters, Evelyn and Annie Alvarado.

State finals will be held at Tenpins & More between November 18-26.

* Calendar:

Sat Nov 4: High School tournament at 8.30 am
Sun Nov 5: King or Queen of the Hill at 9.30 am